Planting Basil, and Watching Your Business Grow

Ok, so really the two have nothing in common, I know, but seriously that’s what I’m going to do today. ;D

My mother-in-law has these poor basil plants that have been in cups of water for quite some time. They have received minimal (if any) plant food, and are in serious need ofย  some good old dirt and fertilizer! I claim to have a bit of a green thumb (perhaps light green?), as I’ve worked on countless golf course maintenance crews successfully, so have offered to plant them for her.

While thinking of her basil plants, I compared them to a small business – perhaps your new (or old) Etsy business? I know that when I first opened my shop, I did nothing other than list a few items, then expect that out of the blue, someone would find my shop and fall in love with something!!! I had dreams of just selling everything, of not being able to keep up with business! It was quite disappointing to go months without even so much as a ‘hearted’ item, let alone a sale!

I have realized over time that you have to nurture your business. Give it lots of ‘food’ by networking, blogging, facebooking, curating treasuries, sharing the possibilities of Etsy with friends and family. Get your shop OUT THERE! I have not had a lot of luck with craft shows, but it’s definitely one way to go. It can be worth a try.

My point is, you can’t sit by and expect something to grow from nothing!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m sure I was last one to realize this, and ya’ll are laughing at me right now, but oh well!!!

WHO’S NEXT????

Who wants their Etsy shop featured in my blog???ย  I have gone a whole week with no one to feature!!! I will just randomly pick someone to contact and feature on Etsy if no one leaves a comment letting me know they want to be featured!

If you want to be featured, leave a comment, along with a link to your shop!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

WE ARE FEATURED!:

Thank you, curators, for some awesome treasuries this week!!!

Woodland Wonderful

the Shining

WE CURATED:

Sea god

Hardware For Her Tough Side

UP NEXT:

My next blog post will be a ‘How To’ on making Cowrie Shell flower necklaces!!! I taught myself how to make them, so the process might seem a little unconventional, but bear with me, people!!!

Her’s to looking forward to another crazy weekend!

2 thoughts on “Planting Basil, and Watching Your Business Grow”

  1. Hi there, I found your posts through etsypreneur. I would like to be featured if you are still looking for people. You can take a look at my shop
    loclava.etsy.com any my blog loclava.wordpress.com

    Honestly, I am still trying to figure everything out. I liked your cowrie shell flower tutorial. Nice job.

    Like

    1. Awesome!!! I do actually have someone lined up to feature for this week, but I will put you on my short list, and feature you soon!!! Thank you so much for visiting my blog, and taking the time to chat!!!
      I will send you a link to your shop feature when I post it!!! Have a great week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

