ArtFire vs. Etsy

Alright – so I am at a crossroads here, people. I have been a member/seller on Etsy since May 31,2009. I have exactly 27 sales. I really, REALLY would like my business to at least pay for itself. I know it takes work – I continue to work at it every day. Part of selling on-line, though, is getting FOUND. Are we Etsy sellers GETTING FOUND? Etsy feels hugely crowded to me – is that a good thing, or a bad thing? There have been debates, and forum discussions about this topic numerous times, I know.

In my search for better tools, and better ways to market my products, I came across ArtFire. I have seen many sellers on Etsy and Facebook using ArtFire – I had just never checked it out for myself!

I would really like to here from you people that do use it – pros and cons?

I am wondering if perhaps to sell on Etsy AND ArtFire would be ok, and would help in getting found, therefore raising the sales numbers?

If you are new at this, check ArtFire out. It really sounds pretty cool.

WE ARE FEATURED:

Sunshine Daydream

WE CURATED:

Hot and Spicy

Wild Crazy Beautiful

As always, feel free to stop by my Etsy shop, Azteca Designs.

Also, if you have a facebook page, a blog, a twitter page, or all three, leave links in a comment, and I will follow you!!! πŸ˜€

Have a great afternoon!!!

11 thoughts on “ArtFire vs. Etsy”

  1. I had an artfire store and not a single sale. I’m thinking of maybe having two and joining etsy or meylah. What are the fees or transaction fees for meylah? I heard there was a fee for meylah and another fee for this marketplace. anyone know about this?

    Like

    1. Hi! I will be checking out Meylah…free advertising, right? πŸ˜€ I’m getting a not so great vibe from ArtFire, but I’ll give it an honest shot, and see what happens. Thank you all so much for the help!!! πŸ™‚ Feel free to chip in whenever with your thoughts – It helps me to be able to ‘bounce’ things off of another person!!!
      ~Heidi

      Like

  2. I have an Artfire shop, but not a pro account. I listed some of my flowers on there when I first started it more than a few months back and barely got any views on the 5 items I listed. I recently took my flowers off and put up my crochet mohawk hats, but they haven’t gotten a lot of views either! I haven’t had much luck with them, but I honestly haven’t been on it as much as Etsy making lists, participating in discussions, teams (do they have teams?), etc. I’m checking out FancieStrands blog post though!

    Like

    1. Hi Annie! I honestly don’t know if they have teams – I just set up a shop on ArtFire yesterday -not a pro one – and listed one item. I will list a few more gradually and see what happens, but with the item, I’ve had like only 4 views in the day and a half it was listed. FancieStrands blog post is pretty interesting – definitely look it up!!! Thank you so much for your input, and I look forward to chatting more in the future!!!
      ~Heidi

      Like

  3. I know exactly where you are coming from. I to have an Etsy shop and have tried the Artfire premium account and I sold nothing on Artfire. I am going to open a new Artfire shop under my new Etsy shop name FancieStrands. I am a firm believer in having more than one site and maybe this article will help you understand why. It really makes alot of sense and so far I have 4 shops on different venues and my sales and custom orders are increasing. Its not easy to have different shops but I feel it is totally worth it. My blog followers have increased alot, I have almost 2000 twitter followers and I just started my facebook page about 3 weeks ago and have 70 followers and I have people weekly asking to feature my shop.. I am thrilled and finally feel like I am moving forward. Here is the blogpost on “Managing Multiple Online Storefronts”. I hope this helps. http://fanciestrands.blogspot.com/2011/02/managing-multiple-online-storefronts.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

