Recycling Your Scrap Silver

I have finally accumulated enough scrap silver from my work that I decided to try melting it down into something I could use! I’ve been wanting some little silver balls to use as embellishments on my work, so I decided to try and make some. I put a tiny pile of scraps and shavings on my charcoal block, and set another block behind it. Then I turned the torch up, and heated the pile by moving the torch in small circles. The silver, once hot enough, began to melt. With continued heat, it pulled together, and formed a ball, all on it’s own! Now, backing up a step, I recommend creating a little divot in your block for the ball to form and rest in….I did not do this at first, and the first ball I made ended up rolling around on the block in its very hot – almost liquid – state. It very easily could have rolled off  – yikes! To view the video I created, visit my facebook fan page HERE!

The balls that form are round on the top, but semi flat on the bottom. This is perfect for me, as it makes it easier to solder onto flat surfaces! I also made a pair of shiny 6mm stud earrings with a pair of closely matched balls – who doesn’t need a pair of these simple beauties!

These little studs will be available during my online trunk show this (late) Saturday night (7th) through Monday evening (9th) in the facebook group Jewelry Designers Open Market!

Feel free to leave a comment and tell me how you use YOUR silver scrap!!!

Stay Creative, Be Inspired~

Heidi @ Azteca Designs Boutique

P1070593

P1070594

Leave a Reply

